Why Should I Hire a Local Wisconsin Car Accident Attorney? Engaging the services of a local Wisconsin-based car accident attorney offers distinct advantages. Such an attorney will possess intimate knowledge of local and state-specific laws, as well as community dynamics that could be pertinent to your case. They can also effectively negotiate with insurance companies that aim to minimize their payouts. This local expertise can be invaluable in securing the best possible compensation for your situation. 

What is the Statute of Limitations for Automobile Accidents in Wisconsin? The legal time frame for filing a claim related to an automobile accident is three years for personal injuries and six years for property damages. 

Which Standard of Negligence is Applied in Wisconsin? Wisconsin employs the Modified Comparative Negligence model. In this system, a claimant will be barred from recovering damages if their fault is found to exceed that of the defendant. If not, the claimant’s recoverable damages will be proportionally reduced by their percentage of fault. Specific provisions exist for product liability and other types of cases under Wis. Stat. §§ 895.045(1) and 895.01 et seq. 

Is Wisconsin a Fault or No-Fault State for Auto Insurance? Wisconsin operates under a fault-based insurance system. 

What are the Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Wisconsin? In Wisconsin, drivers are mandated to have bodily injury liability coverage of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Additionally, property damage liability coverage of $10,000 is required. The state also mandates uninsured motorist coverage with minimum limits of $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for two or more people in bodily injury coverage. 

What Insurance Requirements Apply to Rental Cars in Wisconsin? According to Wisconsin statutes, rental car companies must offer liability coverage, but this is secondary to any coverage the renter already holds. Certain court rulings, such as Buckett v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. and Boatright v. Enterprise Rent-A-Car, have affirmed that this secondary policy could become primary if the renter’s policy only provides excess coverage. 

What Should I Do After an Accident in Wisconsin? In the unfortunate event of an accident resulting in injury, you are obligated to stop your vehicle as close to the scene as safely possible without obstructing traffic. You must remain at the scene to exchange personal and vehicle registration information. If anyone is injured, you are required to provide “reasonable assistance,” which may include calling for emergency medical services or transporting the injured to a medical facility. 

Are There Specific Reporting Requirements for Accidents in Wisconsin? Accidents that involve injuries, $1,000 or more in property damage, or $200 or more in damage to government property must be immediately reported to the police. If a law enforcement officer cannot file a report, you’ll need to complete the Driver Report of Accident Online. This will appear on the driving records of all involved parties, regardless of fault. 

What are the Procedures for Accidents Involving Unattended Vehicles? If you collide with an unoccupied vehicle, make an effort to locate the owner. If successful, share your name, address, and either Wisconsin driver’s license number or date of birth, as well as vehicle information like make and year. If the owner cannot be located, leave a note with the required information in a visible location on the vehicle. 

What are the Penalties for Failing to Follow Accident Procedures? Wisconsin takes violations of accident procedures seriously. Non-compliance could lead to fines, possible imprisonment, and even a felony record. 

Where Can I Find More Information on Wisconsin Accident Procedures? For further details, it’s advisable to consult the accident section of Wisconsin’s vehicle code. 

How is Liability Determined in a Wisconsin Car Accident Lawsuit? Liability in a car accident case depends on the evidence presented and Wisconsin law. The claimant must provide sufficient evidence to demonstrate that another party’s negligence likely caused the accident and resulted in injuries. Depending on the strength of the evidence, a settlement may be offered, or the case may proceed through legal channels. Final liability determinations and compensation awards are made by a judge or jury.